Posted by: stackedfivehigh | April 7, 2012

File Plans!

I’m in the middle of my last two undergrad classes, and getting ready for next week’s MARAC Conference in Cape May. What’s really keeping me occupied, though, is my internship.  I’m in the Records Management office in a Treasury Department agency…and it’s file plan time! I got to help as we gave 177 business units  training on how to write their file plans (almost all of them had one already, but there was training for updating and whatnot). Then I got to do the file plan for the records management office. And that was not as easy as I thought it would be. And now? Now I get to review the 177 file plans, call the people who wrote them to ask follow-up questions and/or request corrections, and other little administrative duties that go along with the project.

The file plan project is literally all I’ve been doing for the last couple of weeks, which can be a bit draining, but at the same time I’m really enjoying it. There’s nothing like reviewing file plans for hours to give you a pretty good grounding in the General Retention Schedule and the agency’s retention schedule. I was worried about that when I started reviewing – how was I supposed to know if it was wrong? This is going to take forever – I’ll have to look up every disposition! It really didn’t take long before I could catch the ones that were wrong, and it really gives me a better sense of the governmental standards for retention.

In other good news, I was accepted to the MLS program at University of Maryland, starting in the summer. I’m VERY excited, and spend far too much time on their website reconfiguring class schedules and reading old syllabi. Go Terps!

Leave a Reply

Categories

