Posted by: stackedfivehigh | June 19, 2011

How to write a disaster plan

That title doesn’t mean I’m going to tell you – it was really a request for you to tell me. I spent last Monday researching for my disaster plan project. There is quite a bit that I will have to talk to other departments in the hospital about, but for now I just needed to get an organized plan of how all of this works. The National Archives has some pointers, and a web search found some other great resources. I ended up with a nice outline of topics, questions, ideas, possible disasters and solutions, and so on. I’m excited to talk to my boss about it tomorrow and see where we can go from here.

I think this project is a bit more complex than many disaster plans because the archives are sort of separate from the rest of the hospital in terms of responsibility and budget. The size of the hospital and number of people who might need to be involved in the plan also make this a big project, but I think it’s going to be fun.

Has anyone else written a disaster plan for an archives or records center?

Leave a Reply

Categories

