Posted by: stackedfivehigh | April 12, 2011

Is it summer semester yet?

Note that I didn’t say “summer break” – I’m too impatient for that. It’s coming down to the end of spring semester, with the requisite papers, projects, finding aids and final exams. So that’s my excuse for not posting lately.

I was unpleasantly surprised last Monday in my archives class when I was shown an example of the scope and content note for the boxes we’re processing. When I processed a small (few box) collection at the museum, I created a finding aid, and the scope and content note were about 2 or 3 paragraphs long. I was expecting the same for the box that I’m processing as part of my practicum for my Archives Administration class. The assistant archivist showed me a 4-page note. For one box. That’s a lot more detail than the notes I’d been taking while processing, so the next few sessions in the archives will be reviewing the contents and getting started on that.

Other than that, I’m excited to wrap up another interesting semester and get started on my summer classes. I’m taking my third database class, this one specifically for records management. My advice to anyone with room for an elective or two – take computer classes, specifically about database management. It’s the future of archives (at least digital housing).

Leave a Reply

Categories

