Posted by: stackedfivehigh | March 1, 2011

Practicum started

I have lots to blog about, but I’ll limit this one to a brief comment about starting my archival administration practicum last night. First of all, WOW it is freezing in the school’s archives. Other than that, it felt just like my normal volunteering gig, with a few institution-specific differences. I had to pull a lot of confidential documents out (that had SSNs, student ID numbers, medical information) from files about classes, professors corresponding about their student lists and class schedules, and so on. I seem to have lucked out on my box. We had 7 boxes, and everyone just grabbed one. Two of my classmates had thoroughly stapled onion paper. I got a box full of normal office paper in 3-ring binders. Much less treacherous.

I also called the city archives today about two (paid!) internships my professor showed me. They’ve been available for a bit, so I called to see if they were filled. I’m waiting on the call-back for that. I’m hoping that having experience in processing and description will help in getting the internship.

Next post – my paper-in-progress about metadata. Any input is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Categories

