Posted by: stackedfivehigh | January 29, 2011

Finding Aids

My first finding aid was posted to the Museum’s blog!  MS 187 – The Randallstown Synagogue Center Collection – sounds fascinating, doesn’t it?

Another week and I’m going to start on the primary finding aid for my new collection. I think writing a finding aid is probably the most satisfying part of processing a collection – once you’ve written it all out, it’s now available for everyone else to reference.

In school-related news, my archival administration class has a practicum part that will involve us each processing a box from a much larger collection, including writing out a description that will be pulled into the finding aid (written by the archivist of the school). I’m glad that we’ll be doing something practical, both for the hands-on experience, and because we’re processing boxes that need to be processed. I’m just crossing my fingers that I don’t end up with anything too weird!

Monday we’ll be discussing security in the archives. I’ll post anything new and interesting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

