Posted by: stackedfivehigh | July 1, 2010

Digitizing and IT support

Last week I spent the afternoon digitizing photos from my ongoing IA collection.  The other computer in the room was occupied by a young man who volunteered his time doing IT work to get more experience, which sounded quite familiar.  Sadly there was a virus of some sort and the scans were taking a very long time.  The good part was that we had an interesting conversation that spanned several hours about the value of IT knowledge for everyone, especially as it relates to museums, archives, and similar.  This further supports my theory that the tech classes I’m taking will actually benefit me down the road, even if Enterprise Architecture is a little confusing at the moment.

Tomorrow will be more Finding Aid.  I wish I could find more information for the background/history portion, but aside from the information gathered when the accession was received and a little bit of information in the constitution of the group being formed, there’s not a lot there.  I guess you just have to accept what’s available and work with that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

